fbpx

AHVISE Teacher required Qld Term 2 or 3 2021 – Tobermorey Station

ByTannas Godfrey, Anatye
  • NT
  • Posted 3 months ago

We are a busy family of 4 that manage a large cattle station with its own caravan park. Our kids are 5 and 8. Our 8yo is in Grade 3 and our 5yo has just started Prep through School of the Air. We are looking for a tutor for the 2nd or 3rd term of the Queensland School Year. Currently Mum is teaching as well as working in a paid position on the Station. We have a governess that looks after our 5yo and is supervising the Prep program. We would love our kids to have exposure to music, languages, dance, art/craft or sport if a volunteer has any special interests. We welcome singles and or couples and have separate shared facilities accommodation and basic accommodation (quarters) or you are able to bring a van (the station has a small caravan park that is open to the public as part of its grounds). Depending on the skill set of couples we may be able to offer casual or contract employment to a partner as we always have many station and caravan park jobs to do. We have satellite internet with a school feed. We have no mobile phone reception where we are based, landline or internet only. Our kids are confident and keen to be busy all of the time, they also appreciate time to themselves and love being read to or taught how to do something one on one.


QLD Term 2 2021 Any dates

QLD Term 3 2021 July - Sep preferred.

Mount Isa School of Distance Education, 137-143 Able Smith Pde, Mount Isa QLD 4825

single
premises
single-caravan
premises_caravan

premises_caravan
WILL THE VOLUNTEER HAVE SEPARATE ACCOMMODATION? - Yes
Yes this is a large working station up to 20 people in staff accommodation or at stock camps. The children's Governess that is not currently teaching. There is a caravan park on station grounds and general public will overnight in this location.

We live on a 1,500,000 acre cattle station in the NT called 'Tobermorey', but the homestead is only about 10km from the QLD/NT border from Boulia. The property is accessible easily from all states as it is situated on the Plenty Highway which is the main road to Alice Springs from WA or QLD. We are 3 hours from Mt Isa and Boulia (QLD), 6 hours from Alice Springs and approx 15 hours from Brisbane. At our property we have a large lawn house yard with a small vege garden and chooks, pigs and other animals. The property is sustained by bore and tank water. This is a working station with up to 30 employees in our busy period over terms 3 and 4. Due to the close proximity to the Plenty Highway, we operate a small service station, tyre repair and caravan/camping park and cabins 7 days a week. If you have a partner, paid employment during your stay may be available helping with the caravan park, kitchen, workshop or machinery operation that is associated with the farm. The school room is on the bottom floor of our high set house. Wifi internet is available for personal use and at the school room for any school or research requirements, download limits apply for personal use and 'streaming' is only available occasionally as satellite internet utilises data for all streaming transactions e.g. netflix. There is split system air conditioning in accommodation, house and school room. Meals are supplied in the Station Dining room 7 days per week. Kitchen facilities for personal use are available in our home, should you not wish to eat the station meals provided. 95% of our meals are beef based as a cattle station utilising our own beef. This placement is not ideally suited to vegetarian or vegan volunteers. Woolworths and Coles are situated in Mt Isa which is the closest supermarket and town to Tobermorey Station. We have lots of tracks that are easy to drive around on the property, and if you enjoy bird-watching or stargazing this is perfect country for you. We have 2 families of brolgas that live here permanently with many other bird species at the house. Our nearest town is an aboriginal community called Urandangie and it has a small primary school. It is our aim to go to town at least once a month for the kids to join in with this school and community. Our nearest school aged neighbours are approximately 50km away. We have a Piper 6 and station helicopters that are located on site at all times as well as a fully equipped RFDS chest and defibrillator.

AIR CONDITIONING
TABLE & CHAIRS
BED LIGHT
WARDROBE OR HANGING SPACE
A HEATER
SPARE BLANKETS

shower

inside

We have 2 types of accommodation available - in our home (main house) where you will have your own room and share the downstairs bathroom with our governess. Alternatively you can situate a caravan in our camping grounds and utilise either the caravan facilities or the shared bathroom. Meals are provided in the station kitchen. Depending on staff at the time of you visit, additional accommodation may be available that is single room accommodation with either en suite or shared bathrooms.

Shared laundry located in the main house available at no cost. No dryers available, line dry only.

Mail is delivered on a Friday morning by aircraft.

YES

YES

walking
photography
Others

YES

YES

We are flexible and are able to work with volunteers. The station provides meals to all staff in the station kitchen. Separate kitchen facilities are available in our home should you prefer not to do this. Our family eats in the station kitchen for dinner and most lunches.

The property is situated on the Plenty Highway on the border of the NT/QLD. Boulia and Mount Isa, both in QLD are approximately 3hours away by car. There is 90km of bitumen and the remaining 180km gravel road from Mt Isa via Urandangie to Tobermorey and 170km bitumen and 80km dirt from Boulia to Tobermorey. Alice Springs is 564km from Tobermorey Station of which approximately 350km is dirt. These roads are travelled by all vehicles including sedans, but we would recommend a vehicle with higher clearance such as an AWD or 4WD. There are regular travellers on all the roads leading to the property.

YES

80km from Boulia and 180km from Mt Isa

Boulia (East) 250km and Mount Isa (North east) 270km; Alice Springs is 564km to the West.

Casual clothing with work clothing with a smart casual option for when you go to town. In winter it is desert temperatures so you will need some warm clothes.

YES

YES

YES

Arly is 8, in Grade 3 and is learning the piano and dancing via skype/telephone in addition to school. She is a big personality (going on 27yo) and enjoys one on one time where she can cook or craft and have a go at every aspect. Her cousins are German and is interested in other languages. She craves one on one attention and has become quite interested in writing in her diary and having 'secrets'. Rex is 5yo and has commenced Prep this year. He is a typical bloke, he likes anything with wheels and is obsessed with motorbikes and cars but also likes to dress up and be creative and sing. He is a very happy child and just likes to play, he is interested in his sister and often tries to copy her school. Where Rex is a bloke, he is a passive child, very happy in his own company. Both kids just love spending time with someone that wants to genuinely spend time with them, absolutely anything will interest them if you are genuine in your engagement with them.